Aberrant the Brand New series from Action Lab!

Action Lab continues to push new creator-owned content! Presenting Aberrant. written by Rylend Grant well known for penning Hollywood scripts for directors such as Ridley Scott,  Justin Lin, F. Gary Gray, John Woo, and Luc Besson. Action Lab tells us that this all-new comic series that it might be the last major comic series created inside Los Angeles pop culture bastion Meltdown Comics. The geekdom landmark sadly just announced it would be closing its doors after 25 trendsetting years.

So what’s the story? Action Lab tells us in a recent press release that:

“David, a U.S. Army Special Operations Commander, distraught after losing his entire unit to a superhuman attack, wages an absolutely brutal one-man war on the eccentric billionaire and former superhero, Lance Cordrey, whom he believes is ultimately responsible. That is until Nelson Little, the head of a clandestine paramilitary outfit called Article 13, provides David with evidence that Cordrey may be a patsy, and David’s men were killed as part of a vast and twisted government/military conspiracy.”

Grant describes ABERRANT as a modern political/conspiracy thriller in the vein of MICHAEL CLAYTON or ENEMY OF THE STATE that explores how the United States’ military and geopolitical agenda would necessarily change if superpowered individuals (the “Aberrant”) walked among us. He gleefully refers to his book as the karmic cousin of groundbreaking 70’s mindbenders like THE CONVERSATION and MARATHON MAN.

“ABERRANT is a military-slanted THREE DAYS OF A CONDOR,” says Grant with a wry smile, referring to the 1975 Sidney Lumet-helmed paranoid spy thriller. “You know… if there was a snarling superpowered badass waiting around every corner, hell-bent on stomping a mudhole in Robert Redford.”

Readers will be delighted to find each issue of ABERRANT jam-packed with hit songs from artists like Elvis Presley, Dean Martin, The Temptations, Bobby McFerrin, Wilson Phillips, and R. Kelly, a true rarity in the world of comics.

“I wanted the book to feel like a really great action movie,” said Grant. “Well, really great action movies always have REALLY great soundtracks. It wasn’t easy to pull off. Clearing music for use in print publications is costly and time-consuming, but it was well worth it in the end. The music is incorporated in a really clever way here. We’ve definitely produced something that people haven’t seen before.”

You can check out this new series June 27th at your local comic book shops or on Comixology. Check Out This exclusive preview below!

 

 

Share to

What do you think? Take a second to support James Portis on Patreon!
James Portis

James Portis

Editor-In Chief
Founder of Shoot The Breeze Comics. Co-Host of the comic book news podcast Panel To Panel. A longtime comic book, video game, and anime nerd. Favorite Superhero is Aquaman...Fight Me
Written by
Founder of Shoot The Breeze Comics. Co-Host of the comic book news podcast Panel To Panel. A longtime comic book, video game, and anime nerd. Favorite Superhero is Aquaman...Fight Me

Have your say!

0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>